Animalia – The Animal Kingdom

Animalia, otherwise known as the Animal Kingdom is one of the five different kingdoms that are used to classify life on earth.  Animals, Plants, Fungi, Bacteria and Protists (single celled organisms).

Each of these kingdoms then divided into five smaller groups called Phylum, defined by their main features.  Cnidaria (invertebrates), Chordata (vertebrates) Arthropods, Molluscs and Echinoderms.

Each of these groups are then again divided into smaller groups known as classes.  Vertabrates are split into Mammalia (Mammals), Actinopterygii (Bony Fish), Chondrichthyes (Cartilaginous Fish) , Aves (Birds), Amphibia (Amphibians) and Reptili

a (Reptiles).  This breakdown continues with ea

ch class being split into orders, then family, then genus and finally species.

Example:   Lion
Kingdom: Animalia (Animal)
Phylum: Chordata (Vertebrate)
Class: Mammalia (Mammal)
Order: Carnivora (Carnivore)
Family: Felidae (Cat)
Genus: Panthera
Species: Panthera leo (Lion)

This animalia gallery features members of the Vertebrates class.  The Birds gallery can be found Here